Title: ANWB Energie vs Frank Energie: €14* a year apart (2026)
Canonical: https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/anwb-energie-vs-frank-energie/
Language: en
Last modified: 2026-09-27
Source: EREVergelijken.eu (the ERE Team), CC BY 4.0 for the data

Energy suppliers compared

# ANWB Energie vs Frank Energiedynamic contracts compared, EV drivers included

What does home charging with ANWB Energie and Frank Energie cost for your car?

EV cost scan: your car, mileage and charging habits

-   [Home charging with ANWB Energie](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/ev-cost-scan/?leverancier=anwb-energie)
-   [Home charging with Frank Energie](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/ev-cost-scan/?leverancier=frank-energie)

ANWB Energie and Frank Energie side by side: fixed fee €8.50\* and €7.25\* per month, markup €0.0180 and €0.0182\* per kWh. At 5,130 kWh a year (household plus home charging), they differ by only €14 a year in fixed fees and markup: practically the same. What differs: ANWB Energie: smart charging announced (not available yet) and ACM license since 2022; Frank Energie: smart charging in its own app, steers a home battery, own ERE deal (open now) and ACM license since 2020.

Amounts from the suppliers' own sites, checked on September 27, 2026 · no paid placement

The numbers

## ANWB Energie and Frank Energie side by side

Only what the supplier itself charges: fixed fee and markup. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both.

ANWB Energie and Frank Energie: costs, contract and EV score
| Item | ANWB Energie | Frank Energie |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Costs |
| Fixed fee per month | €8.50\* | €7.25\* |
| Markup per kWh | €0.0180 Lower | €0.0182\* |
| Supplier cost per year, at 5,130 kWh | €194\* | €180\* |
| Contract and charging |
| Price per | hour | hour |
| Smart charging in the app | Coming soon | Yes |
| Home-battery steering | Not found | Yes |
| Own ERE deal | No | Yes |
| Certainty |
| Taking new customers | Yes | Yes |
| ACM license | Active since 2022 | Active since 2020 |
| EV score | 5.8/10 · Fair | 8.5/10 · Strong |

-   \* Amount as the supplier publishes it; the supplier does not say whether it includes VAT.
-   Marked green: the lower amount, only when it stays lower if an amount with \* were excl. VAT (then 21% is added). No mark: the same, or not certain which is lower.
-   Supplier cost per year: 12 × fixed fee + markup × 5,130 kWh (2,430 kWh average household plus 2,700 kWh home charging, 15,000 km a year), excl. energy tax and grid costs.

Price per month

## What a kWh cost with ANWB Energie and Frank Energie

Smart-charged in the four cheapest hours of each day, with energy tax, VAT and each supplier's markup. The market price is the same for both, so the lines move together. The gap between them is the difference in markup: €0.0002\* per kWh.

€0.184/kWh ANWB Energie: smart charging, average over the last 12 months

€0.184\*/kWh Frank Energie: smart charging, average over the last 12 months

€14\*a year Difference in supplier cost per year at 5,130 kWh Which is lower is not certain: VAT not stated

Smart charging, price per kWh

Last 24 complete months · markup difference €0.0002\* per kWh

See the figures per month+

Price per kWh with smart charging per month, ANWB Energie and Frank Energie
| Month | ANWB Energie | Frank Energie |
| --- | --- | --- |
| September 2026 | €0.204 | €0.204 |
| August 2026 | €0.170 | €0.170 |
| July 2026 | €0.155 | €0.155 |
| June 2026 | €0.169 | €0.169 |
| May 2026 | €0.144 | €0.144 |
| April 2026 | €0.124 | €0.124 |
| March 2026 | €0.168 | €0.168 |
| February 2026 | €0.211 | €0.212 |
| January 2026 | €0.228 | €0.228 |
| December 2025 | €0.217 | €0.217 |
| November 2025 | €0.219 | €0.219 |
| October 2025 | €0.199 | €0.199 |
| September 2025 | €0.174 | €0.174 |
| August 2025 | €0.160 | €0.161 |
| July 2025 | €0.185 | €0.186 |
| June 2025 | €0.138 | €0.139 |
| May 2025 | €0.124 | €0.124 |
| April 2025 | €0.146 | €0.146 |
| March 2025 | €0.179 | €0.179 |
| February 2025 | €0.254 | €0.254 |
| January 2025 | €0.234 | €0.234 |
| December 2024 | €0.220 | €0.220 |
| November 2024 | €0.244 | €0.244 |
| October 2024 | €0.210 | €0.211 |

Per kWh incl. VAT and energy tax, excl. fixed supply costs, grid costs and the tax reduction. Markup as we record it per month; before September 27, 2026 the first markup we saw. \* Markup published without stating VAT. Energy tax and VAT: Belastingdienst, Overzicht tarieven energiebelasting. Market price: [Energy-Charts (Fraunhofer ISE), data Bundesnetzagentur | SMARD.de](https://www.energy-charts.info/charts/price_spot_market/chart.htm?l=nl&c=NL) (CC BY 4.0)

EV score

## Score per pillar

Ten public checks in four pillars, the same rules for every supplier. Anything not public earns 0 points.

[How the EV score works](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/#ev-score)

-   ANWB Energie 5.8 /10 EV score · Fair
-   Frank Energie 8.5 /10 EV score · Strong

-   Charging

    weight 35%

    ANWB Energie 5.0

    Frank Energie 10.0

-   Costs

    weight 30%

    ANWB Energie 6.7

    Frank Energie 5.0

-   Certainty

    weight 25%

    ANWB Energie 8.3

    Frank Energie 10.0

-   ERE

    weight 10%

    ANWB Energie 0.0

    Frank Energie 10.0

See every point per check+

EV score: points per check
| Check | ANWB Energie | Frank Energie |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Dynamic contract Charging · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Smart charging in the app Charging · Yes: 1 · coming soon: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Home-battery steering Charging · Yes: 1 | 0 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Fixed fee public Costs · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 0.5 / 1 |
| Markup per kWh public Costs · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 0.5 / 1 |
| Supplier cost per year Costs · Cheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 0.5 / 1 |
| ACM license active Certainty · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Years licensed Certainty · 5+ years: 1 · 2+ years: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Taking new customers Certainty · Yes: 1 · unknown: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Own ERE deal ERE · Open: 1 · waitlist or pre-registration: 0.5 | 0 / 1 | 1 / 1 |

For EV drivers

## What they offer beyond the price

The first sentence of what the supplier itself says. Everything is on each supplier's page, with sources.

-   ### Smart charging in the app

    ANWB Energie Coming soon

    According to anwb.nl a new Smart Charging app is in development ('more soon'); no working steering of charging on hourly prices is offered now.

    Frank Energie Yes

    Smart Charging in the Frank app: set a departure time and Frank schedules charging at the cheapest moments.

-   ### ERE deal

    ANWB Energie No

    ANWB explains ERE on anwb.nl and refers to registration services in general, but offers no ERE service itself and names no partner.

    Frank Energie Yes

    Via registration service Joulo (since 16 September 2026), for customers with a suitable charge point with a MID meter.

    [View this ERE offer](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/providers/frank-energie/)

-   ### Home battery

    ANWB Energie Not found

    Frank Energie Yes

    Slim Stroom Handelen: Frank steers a linked home battery to charge at low and discharge at high prices, including on the imbalance market; open to multiple brands.

-   ### Feed-in

    ANWB Energie

    No feed-in costs.

    Frank Energie

    No feed-in costs.

-   ### Term and cancelling

    ANWB Energie

    No fixed term; can be cancelled any day without a cancellation fee.

    Frank Energie

    Indefinite term; cancellation is free and there is no notice period.

-   ### Fixed fee in short

    ANWB Energie

    Fixed supply costs €8.50 per month for electricity (gas €8.50, €9.75 from 1 September 2026); none of ANWB's own pages say whether this amount includes or excludes VAT (VAT basis not stated).

    Frank Energie

    Both amounts come from Frank Energie's comparison table (updated April 2026): fixed supply fee €7.25 per month and purchase fee €0.0182 per kWh.

Which one suits whom?

## The differences at a glance

No winner and no advice: these are the differences in the public data. Lower means a lower amount, nothing more.

ANWB Energie

-   Lower markup: €0.0180 against €0.0182\* per kWh
-   Smart charging announced, not available yet
-   ACM license since 2022

[All about ANWB Energie](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/anwb-energie/)

Frank Energie

-   Smart charging in its own app
-   Steers a home battery
-   Own ERE deal, open now
-   ACM license since 2020

[All about Frank Energie](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/frank-energie/)

Not certain which is lower: fixed fee and supplier cost per year. At least one of the two does not say whether the amount includes VAT (\* in the table).

Both

-   Price per hour
-   Taking new customers

Sources

## Where the numbers come from

ANWB Energie

-   [ANWB: Hoe werkt ANWB Energie (vaste leveringskosten, inkoopkosten, teruglevering)](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/hoe-werkt-anwb-energie)
-   [ANWB: Actuele energietarieven (inkoopkosten incl. btw)](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/actuele-tarieven)
-   [ANWB: Dynamische energiecontracten vergelijken](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/dynamische-energiecontracten-vergelijken)
-   [ANWB: Voorwaarden (dagelijks opzegbaar)](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/voorwaarden-anwb-energie)
-   [ANWB Energie Productvoorwaarden Dynamisch (1 januari 2026)](https://merk.anwb.nl/m/16ce315977a4caae/original/ANWB-Energie-Productvoorwaarden-Dynamisch-Elektriciteit-en-Gas.pdf)
-   [ANWB: Slim laden](https://www.anwb.nl/auto/elektrisch-rijden/opladen/slim-laden)
-   [ANWB: ERE-certificaten](https://www.anwb.nl/auto/elektrisch-rijden/laadpalen/ere-certificaten)
-   [ANWB: Vaste leveringskosten energie](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/vaste-leveringskosten-energie)
-   [ANWB: Variabel of dynamisch energiecontract](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/variabel-of-dynamisch-energiecontract-wat-is-het-verschil)
-   [ANWB: Aanvragen](https://www.anwb.nl/energie/aanvragen)
-   [ACM: Energieleveranciers met een vergunning (elektriciteit)](https://www.acm.nl/nl/herstructurering-energie/elektriciteit-en-gas/energie-leveren-met-vergunning/energieleveranciers-met-een-vergunning)

Checked on September 27, 2026

Frank Energie

-   [Frank Energie: Dynamisch energiecontract vergelijken (tabel april 2026)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/dynamisch-energiecontract/dynamisch-energiecontract-vergelijken)
-   [Frank Energie: Terugleververgoeding (€ 0,0182/kWh, Slim Terugleveren)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/kennisbank/zonnepanelen/terugleververgoeding)
-   [Frank Energie: Dynamische energieprijzen (uur- of kwartierprijzen)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/dynamisch-energiecontract/dynamische-energieprijzen)
-   [Frank Energie: Leeswijzer afrekening (inkoopvergoeding teruglevering)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/leeswijzer-afrekening)
-   [Frank Energie Aanvullende voorwaarden Dynamisch Product](https://cdn.sanity.io/files/8navd656/production/5203395e7d743fded9f20a73d723132aae1d3db0.pdf)
-   [Frank Energie openbare prijzenfeed (GraphQL marketPricesElectricity)](https://frank-graphql-prod.graphcdn.app/)
-   [Frank Energie: Slim Laden](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/slimme-diensten/slim-laden)
-   [Frank Energie: Slim Stroom Handelen](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/slimme-diensten/slim-handelen)
-   [Frank Energie: Nieuws ERE-certificaten met Joulo (16 september 2026)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/nieuws/ere-certificaten-joulo)
-   [Frank Energie: Dynamisch energiecontract (oudere pagina, vaste vergoeding € 7, d.d. 3 januari 2025)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/bang-voor-dynamisch5)
-   [Frank Energie: Variabel contract (alleen via prijsvergelijkers)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/variabel-contract)
-   [Frank Energie: Variabel contract prijzen](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/variabel-contract-prijzen)
-   [Frank Energie: Referentietarief opzegvergoeding (vast contract)](https://www.frankenergie.nl/nl/referentietarief-opzegvergoeding)
-   [Frank Energie Aanvullende productvoorwaarden 1 jaar Vast product](https://cdn.sanity.io/files/8navd656/production/fc4e470a5a76202a07f99589299e225429db35ae.pdf)
-   [ACM: Energieleveranciers met een vergunning (elektriciteit)](https://www.acm.nl/nl/herstructurering-energie/elektriciteit-en-gas/energie-leveren-met-vergunning/energieleveranciers-met-een-vergunning)

Checked on September 27, 2026

Average household: [Milieu Centraal - Gemiddeld energieverbruik](https://www.milieucentraal.nl/energie-besparen/inzicht-in-je-energierekening/gemiddeld-energieverbruik/)

### More comparisons

-   [ANWB Energie vs Tibber](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/anwb-energie-vs-tibber/)
-   [ANWB Energie vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/anwb-energie-vs-zonneplan/)
-   [D ANWB Energie vs DELTA Energie](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/anwb-energie-vs-delta-energie/)
-   [Frank Energie vs Tibber](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/frank-energie-vs-tibber/)
-   [Frank Energie vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/frank-energie-vs-zonneplan/)
-   [Frank Energie vs NextEnergy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/frank-energie-vs-nextenergy/)

[All energy suppliers](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/) [All dynamic contracts](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/dynamic-energy-contract/)

Questions

## Frequently asked questions

Answered with the numbers on this page, the same way for both suppliers.

Which is cheaper: ANWB Energie or Frank Energie?

For an example household (2,430 kWh household use plus 2,700 kWh home charging), ANWB Energie charges €194\* a year in fixed fees and markup, Frank Energie €180\*. The difference is €14 a year, but ANWB Energie and Frank Energie do not say whether the amounts include VAT, so which one is cheaper is not certain. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both. \* Amount as the supplier publishes it, without saying whether it includes VAT.

Can you smart-charge your EV with ANWB Energie and Frank Energie?

ANWB Energie: coming soon. According to anwb.nl a new Smart Charging app is in development ('more soon'); no working steering of charging on hourly prices is offered now. Frank Energie: yes. Smart Charging in the Frank app: set a departure time and Frank schedules charging at the cheapest moments.

Do ANWB Energie and Frank Energie have an ERE deal?

ANWB Energie: no. ANWB explains ERE on anwb.nl and refers to registration services in general, but offers no ERE service itself and names no partner. Frank Energie: yes. Via registration service Joulo (since 16 September 2026), for customers with a suitable charge point with a MID meter. Since 1 January 2026, ERE payment for home charging needs a charger with a built-in MID meter; you can also arrange ERE separately from your energy supplier or charging card.

Do ANWB Energie and Frank Energie use hourly or quarter-hourly prices?

ANWB Energie prices per hour, Frank Energie per hour.

What is the EV score of ANWB Energie and Frank Energie?

ANWB Energie 5.8/10 (fair), Frank Energie 8.5/10 (strong). The EV score counts ten public checks in four pillars: charging 35%, costs 30%, certainty 25% and ERE 10%, with the same rules for every supplier.

Can you cancel ANWB Energie and Frank Energie at any time?

ANWB Energie: No fixed term; can be cancelled any day without a cancellation fee. Frank Energie: Indefinite term; cancellation is free and there is no notice period.

## Your ERE payment is arranged separately

Whichever supplier you use: with a charger that has a built-in MID meter you earn ERE payment for what you charge at home. Compare the providers on net earnings and trust.

[Compare ERE providers](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/compare/)
