Title: Blue Current Energy vs Zonneplan: €1* a year apart (2026)
Canonical: https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/blue-current-energy-vs-zonneplan/
Language: en
Last modified: 2026-09-27
Source: EREVergelijken.eu (the ERE Team), CC BY 4.0 for the data

Energy suppliers compared

# Blue Current Energy vs Zonneplandynamic contracts compared, EV drivers included

What does home charging with Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan cost for your car?

EV cost scan: your car, mileage and charging habits

-   [Home charging with Blue Current Energy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/ev-cost-scan/?leverancier=blue-current-energy)
-   [Home charging with Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/ev-cost-scan/?leverancier=zonneplan)

Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan side by side: fixed fee €6.20\* and €6.25\* per month, markup €0.0200\* and €0.0200 per kWh. At 5,130 kWh a year (household plus home charging), they differ by only €1 a year in fixed fees and markup: practically the same. What differs: Blue Current Energy: price per hour and ACM license since 2022; Zonneplan: price per quarter-hour, steers a home battery and ACM license since 2020.

Amounts from the suppliers' own sites, checked on September 27, 2026 · no paid placement

The numbers

## Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan side by side

Only what the supplier itself charges: fixed fee and markup. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both.

Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan: costs, contract and EV score
| Item | Blue Current Energy | Zonneplan |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Costs |
| Fixed fee per month | €6.20\* | €6.25\* |
| Markup per kWh | €0.0200\* | €0.0200 |
| Supplier cost per year, at 5,130 kWh | €177\* | €178\* |
| Contract and charging |
| Price per | hour | quarter-hour |
| Smart charging in the app | Yes | Yes |
| Home-battery steering | Not found | Yes |
| Own ERE deal | Yes | Yes |
| Certainty |
| Taking new customers | Yes | Yes |
| ACM license | Active since 2022 | Active since 2020 |
| EV score | 7.4/10 · Good | 9.5/10 · Strong |

-   \* Amount as the supplier publishes it; the supplier does not say whether it includes VAT.
-   Marked green: the lower amount, only when it stays lower if an amount with \* were excl. VAT (then 21% is added). No mark: the same, or not certain which is lower.
-   Supplier cost per year: 12 × fixed fee + markup × 5,130 kWh (2,430 kWh average household plus 2,700 kWh home charging, 15,000 km a year), excl. energy tax and grid costs.

Price per month

## What a kWh cost with Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan

Smart-charged in the four cheapest hours of each day, with energy tax, VAT and each supplier's markup. The market price is the same for both, so the lines move together. The markups are equal: the lines coincide.

€0.186\*/kWh Blue Current Energy: smart charging, average over the last 12 months

€0.186/kWh Zonneplan: smart charging, average over the last 12 months

€1\*a year Difference in supplier cost per year at 5,130 kWh Which is lower is not certain: VAT not stated

Smart charging, price per kWh

Last 24 complete months · markup difference €0.0000\* per kWh

See the figures per month+

Price per kWh with smart charging per month, Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan
| Month | Blue Current Energy | Zonneplan |
| --- | --- | --- |
| September 2026 | €0.206 | €0.206 |
| August 2026 | €0.172 | €0.172 |
| July 2026 | €0.157 | €0.157 |
| June 2026 | €0.171 | €0.171 |
| May 2026 | €0.146 | €0.146 |
| April 2026 | €0.126 | €0.126 |
| March 2026 | €0.170 | €0.170 |
| February 2026 | €0.213 | €0.213 |
| January 2026 | €0.230 | €0.230 |
| December 2025 | €0.219 | €0.219 |
| November 2025 | €0.221 | €0.221 |
| October 2025 | €0.201 | €0.201 |
| September 2025 | €0.176 | €0.176 |
| August 2025 | €0.162 | €0.162 |
| July 2025 | €0.187 | €0.187 |
| June 2025 | €0.140 | €0.140 |
| May 2025 | €0.126 | €0.126 |
| April 2025 | €0.148 | €0.148 |
| March 2025 | €0.181 | €0.181 |
| February 2025 | €0.256 | €0.256 |
| January 2025 | €0.236 | €0.236 |
| December 2024 | €0.222 | €0.222 |
| November 2024 | €0.246 | €0.246 |
| October 2024 | €0.212 | €0.212 |

Per kWh incl. VAT and energy tax, excl. fixed supply costs, grid costs and the tax reduction. Markup as we record it per month; before September 27, 2026 the first markup we saw. \* Markup published without stating VAT. Energy tax and VAT: Belastingdienst, Overzicht tarieven energiebelasting. Market price: [Energy-Charts (Fraunhofer ISE), data Bundesnetzagentur | SMARD.de](https://www.energy-charts.info/charts/price_spot_market/chart.htm?l=nl&c=NL) (CC BY 4.0)

EV score

## Score per pillar

Ten public checks in four pillars, the same rules for every supplier. Anything not public earns 0 points.

[How the EV score works](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/#ev-score)

-   Blue Current Energy 7.4 /10 EV score · Good
-   Zonneplan 9.5 /10 EV score · Strong

-   Charging

    weight 35%

    Blue Current Energy 6.7

    Zonneplan 10.0

-   Costs

    weight 30%

    Blue Current Energy 6.7

    Zonneplan 8.3

-   Certainty

    weight 25%

    Blue Current Energy 8.3

    Zonneplan 10.0

-   ERE

    weight 10%

    Blue Current Energy 10.0

    Zonneplan 10.0

See every point per check+

EV score: points per check
| Check | Blue Current Energy | Zonneplan |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Dynamic contract Charging · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Smart charging in the app Charging · Yes: 1 · coming soon: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Home-battery steering Charging · Yes: 1 | 0 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Fixed fee public Costs · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 0.5 / 1 |
| Markup per kWh public Costs · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Supplier cost per year Costs · Cheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| ACM license active Certainty · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Years licensed Certainty · 5+ years: 1 · 2+ years: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Taking new customers Certainty · Yes: 1 · unknown: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Own ERE deal ERE · Open: 1 · waitlist or pre-registration: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |

For EV drivers

## What they offer beyond the price

The first sentence of what the supplier itself says. Everything is on each supplier's page, with sources.

-   ### Smart charging in the app

    Blue Current Energy Yes

    Price-based charging for Blue Current-built charge points with Smart Reader: uses EPEX prices for the next 24 hours and slows or pauses charging during expensive hours.

    Zonneplan Yes

    Powerplay charges the car automatically at the cheapest moments based on your departure time.

-   ### ERE deal

    Blue Current Energy Yes

    Blue Current registers and sells EREs for charging data from charge points with a MID meter linked to the Blue Current back office (all Blue Current chargers have a MID meter), via an unnamed certified registrant.

    Zonneplan Yes

    Zonneplan ERE charging bonus, credited on the energy bill; only with Zonneplan Energie and a charger with a MID meter (Zonneplan Charge 1 and 2 are not eligible).

    [View this ERE offer](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/providers/zonneplan/)

-   ### Home battery

    Blue Current Energy Not found

    Zonneplan Yes

    Zonneplan Nexus home battery with Powerplay: charges and discharges based on prices on several energy markets (imbalance, intraday and day-ahead).

-   ### Feed-in

    Blue Current Energy

    No feed-in costs.

    Zonneplan

    No feed-in costs; you receive the quarter-hour price.

-   ### Term and cancelling

    Blue Current Energy

    No fixed term and no penalties according to the help articles.

    Zonneplan

    No fixed term; can be cancelled daily at no cost.

-   ### Fixed fee in short

    Blue Current Energy

    Blue Current states fixed costs of €6.20 per month per connection and a purchase fee of €0.0200 per kWh of electricity; whether these amounts include VAT is not stated.

    Zonneplan

    Fixed supply costs €6.25 per product per month; Zonneplan's own pages do not say whether this includes VAT.

Which one suits whom?

## The differences at a glance

No winner and no advice: these are the differences in the public data. Lower means a lower amount, nothing more.

Blue Current Energy

-   Price per hour
-   ACM license since 2022

[All about Blue Current Energy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/blue-current-energy/)

Zonneplan

-   Price per quarter-hour
-   Steers a home battery
-   ACM license since 2020

[All about Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/zonneplan/)

Not certain which is lower: fixed fee and supplier cost per year. At least one of the two does not say whether the amount includes VAT (\* in the table).

Both

-   Smart charging in its own app
-   Own ERE deal, open now
-   Taking new customers

Sources

## Where the numbers come from

Blue Current Energy

-   [Blue Current dynamische energie](https://www.bluecurrent.nl/energy/dynamic-energy)
-   [Blue Current energieprijzen](https://www.bluecurrent.nl/energy/prices)
-   [Blue Current help: erkende energieleverancier (OpenSource Energie)](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/is-blue-current-energy-een-erkent-energieleverancier)
-   [Blue Current help: terugleveren bij dynamisch contract](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/hoe-werkt-terugleveren-bij-een-dynamisch-energie-contract-en-wat-zijn-bijkomende-kosten)
-   [Blue Current help: prijsgestuurd laden](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/laden-op-prijs)
-   [Blue Current help: wat is een dynamisch energiecontract](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/knowledge/what-is-a-dynamic-energy-contract)
-   [Blue Current help: financiele zaken (ERE)](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/financi%C3%ABle-zaken)
-   [Blue Current help: welke laadpalen komen in aanmerking voor ERE](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/alle-laadpalen-eres)
-   [Blue Current help: uitbetaling ERE](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/ontvangst-verdiensten-eres)
-   [Blue Current help: eigendom ERE's](https://help.bluecurrent.nl/nl/knowledge/eigendom-eres)
-   [ACM: energieleveranciers met een vergunning](https://www.acm.nl/nl/herstructurering-energie/elektriciteit-en-gas/energie-leveren-met-vergunning/energieleveranciers-met-een-vergunning)

Checked on September 27, 2026

Zonneplan

-   [ACM: energieleveranciers met een vergunning (elektriciteit)](https://www.acm.nl/nl/energie/elektriciteit-en-gas/energie-verkopen/energie-leveren-met-vergunning/energieleveranciers-met-een-vergunning)
-   [Zonneplan: dynamische energiecontracten vergelijken (tabel, mei 2026)](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/vergelijken)
-   [Zonneplan: dynamisch energiecontract (kwartierprijs, opbouw, opzeggen)](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/dynamisch-energiecontract)
-   [Zonneplan: zonnepanelen, Zonnebonus en terugleverkosten](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/zonnepanelen)
-   [Zonneplan: stroomprijs per kwartier](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/dynamische-energieprijzen/stroomprijs)
-   [Zonneplan: ERE-laadbonus](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/ere-laadbonus)
-   [Zonneplan: slim laden](https://www.zonneplan.nl/laadpaal/slim-laden)
-   [Zonneplan: kosten besparen met slim laden (Powerplay)](https://www.zonneplan.nl/laadpaal/kosten-besparen-slim-laden)
-   [Zonneplan: hoe werkt de thuisbatterij](https://www.zonneplan.nl/thuisbatterij/hoe-werkt-het)
-   [Zonneplan: factuur vast voorschot (vaste leveringskosten € 6,25 per product)](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/factuur/vast-voorschot)
-   [Zonneplan FAQ: geen vast energiecontract](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/soorten-energiecontracten/vast-energiecontract)
-   [Zonneplan FAQ: geen variabel energiecontract](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/soorten-energiecontracten/variabel-energiecontract)
-   [Zonneplan: zakelijk energiecontract](https://www.zonneplan.nl/energie/zakelijk-energiecontract)

Checked on September 27, 2026

Average household: [Milieu Centraal - Gemiddeld energieverbruik](https://www.milieucentraal.nl/energie-besparen/inzicht-in-je-energierekening/gemiddeld-energieverbruik/)

### More comparisons

-   [Blue Current Energy vs Tibber](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/blue-current-energy-vs-tibber/)
-   [D Blue Current Energy vs DELTA Energie](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/blue-current-energy-vs-delta-energie/)
-   [Tibber vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/tibber-vs-zonneplan/)
-   [Frank Energie vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/frank-energie-vs-zonneplan/)
-   [ANWB Energie vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/anwb-energie-vs-zonneplan/)
-   [NextEnergy vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/nextenergy-vs-zonneplan/)

[All energy suppliers](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/) [All dynamic contracts](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/dynamic-energy-contract/)

Questions

## Frequently asked questions

Answered with the numbers on this page, the same way for both suppliers.

Which is cheaper: Blue Current Energy or Zonneplan?

For an example household (2,430 kWh household use plus 2,700 kWh home charging), Blue Current Energy charges €177\* a year in fixed fees and markup, Zonneplan €178\*. The difference is €1 a year, but Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan do not say whether the amounts include VAT, so which one is cheaper is not certain. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both. \* Amount as the supplier publishes it, without saying whether it includes VAT.

Can you smart-charge your EV with Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan?

Blue Current Energy: yes. Price-based charging for Blue Current-built charge points with Smart Reader: uses EPEX prices for the next 24 hours and slows or pauses charging during expensive hours. Zonneplan: yes. Powerplay charges the car automatically at the cheapest moments based on your departure time.

Do Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan have an ERE deal?

Blue Current Energy: yes. Blue Current registers and sells EREs for charging data from charge points with a MID meter linked to the Blue Current back office (all Blue Current chargers have a MID meter), via an unnamed certified registrant. Zonneplan: yes. Zonneplan ERE charging bonus, credited on the energy bill; only with Zonneplan Energie and a charger with a MID meter (Zonneplan Charge 1 and 2 are not eligible). Since 1 January 2026, ERE payment for home charging needs a charger with a built-in MID meter; you can also arrange ERE separately from your energy supplier or charging card.

Do Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan use hourly or quarter-hourly prices?

Blue Current Energy prices per hour, Zonneplan per quarter-hour.

What is the EV score of Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan?

Blue Current Energy 7.4/10 (good), Zonneplan 9.5/10 (strong). The EV score counts ten public checks in four pillars: charging 35%, costs 30%, certainty 25% and ERE 10%, with the same rules for every supplier.

Can you cancel Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan at any time?

Blue Current Energy: No fixed term and no penalties according to the help articles. Zonneplan: No fixed term; can be cancelled daily at no cost.

## Your ERE payment is arranged separately

Whichever supplier you use: with a charger that has a built-in MID meter you earn ERE payment for what you charge at home. Compare the providers on net earnings and trust.

[Compare ERE providers](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/compare/)
