Title: Hegg Energy vs SamSam: €2* apart, almost the same (2026)
Canonical: https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/hegg-vs-samsam/
Language: en
Last modified: 2026-09-27
Source: EREVergelijken.eu (the ERE Team), CC BY 4.0 for the data

Energy suppliers compared

# Hegg Energy vs SamSamdynamic contracts compared, EV drivers included

What does home charging with Hegg Energy and SamSam cost for your car?

EV cost scan: your car, mileage and charging habits

-   [Home charging with Hegg Energy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/ev-cost-scan/?leverancier=hegg)
-   [Home charging with SamSam](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/ev-cost-scan/?leverancier=samsam)

Hegg Energy and SamSam side by side: fixed fee €7.50\* and €7.99\* per month, markup €0.0220\* and €0.0212\* per kWh. At 5,130 kWh a year (household plus home charging), they differ by only €2 a year in fixed fees and markup: practically the same. What differs: Hegg Energy: price per quarter-hour and own ERE deal (open now).

Amounts from the suppliers' own sites, checked on September 27, 2026 · no paid placement

The numbers

## Hegg Energy and SamSam side by side

Only what the supplier itself charges: fixed fee and markup. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both.

Hegg Energy and SamSam: costs, contract and EV score
| Item | Hegg Energy | SamSam |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Costs |
| Fixed fee per month | €7.50\* | €7.99\* |
| Markup per kWh | €0.0220\* | €0.0212\* |
| Supplier cost per year, at 5,130 kWh | €203\* | €205\* |
| Contract and charging |
| Price per | quarter-hour | unknown |
| Smart charging in the app | Yes | Yes |
| Home-battery steering | Yes | Yes |
| Own ERE deal | Yes | No |
| Certainty |
| Taking new customers | Yes | Yes |
| ACM license | Active since 2018 | Active since 2018 |
| EV score | 8.0/10 · Strong | 7.0/10 · Good |

-   \* Amount as the supplier publishes it; the supplier does not say whether it includes VAT.
-   Marked green: the lower amount, only when it stays lower if an amount with \* were excl. VAT (then 21% is added). No mark: the same, or not certain which is lower.
-   Supplier cost per year: 12 × fixed fee + markup × 5,130 kWh (2,430 kWh average household plus 2,700 kWh home charging, 15,000 km a year), excl. energy tax and grid costs.

Price per month

## What a kWh cost with Hegg Energy and SamSam

Smart-charged in the four cheapest hours of each day, with energy tax, VAT and each supplier's markup. The market price is the same for both, so the lines move together. The gap between them is the difference in markup: €0.0008\* per kWh.

€0.188\*/kWh Hegg Energy: smart charging, average over the last 12 months

€0.187\*/kWh SamSam: smart charging, average over the last 12 months

€2\*a year Difference in supplier cost per year at 5,130 kWh Which is lower is not certain: VAT not stated

Smart charging, price per kWh

Last 24 complete months · markup difference €0.0008\* per kWh

See the figures per month+

Price per kWh with smart charging per month, Hegg Energy and SamSam
| Month | Hegg Energy | SamSam |
| --- | --- | --- |
| September 2026 | €0.208 | €0.207 |
| August 2026 | €0.174 | €0.173 |
| July 2026 | €0.159 | €0.158 |
| June 2026 | €0.173 | €0.172 |
| May 2026 | €0.148 | €0.147 |
| April 2026 | €0.128 | €0.127 |
| March 2026 | €0.172 | €0.171 |
| February 2026 | €0.215 | €0.215 |
| January 2026 | €0.232 | €0.231 |
| December 2025 | €0.221 | €0.220 |
| November 2025 | €0.223 | €0.222 |
| October 2025 | €0.203 | €0.202 |
| September 2025 | €0.178 | €0.177 |
| August 2025 | €0.164 | €0.164 |
| July 2025 | €0.189 | €0.188 |
| June 2025 | €0.142 | €0.142 |
| May 2025 | €0.128 | €0.127 |
| April 2025 | €0.150 | €0.149 |
| March 2025 | €0.183 | €0.182 |
| February 2025 | €0.258 | €0.257 |
| January 2025 | €0.238 | €0.237 |
| December 2024 | €0.224 | €0.223 |
| November 2024 | €0.248 | €0.247 |
| October 2024 | €0.214 | €0.214 |

Per kWh incl. VAT and energy tax, excl. fixed supply costs, grid costs and the tax reduction. Markup as we record it per month; before September 27, 2026 the first markup we saw. \* Markup published without stating VAT. Energy tax and VAT: Belastingdienst, Overzicht tarieven energiebelasting. Market price: [Energy-Charts (Fraunhofer ISE), data Bundesnetzagentur | SMARD.de](https://www.energy-charts.info/charts/price_spot_market/chart.htm?l=nl&c=NL) (CC BY 4.0)

EV score

## Score per pillar

Ten public checks in four pillars, the same rules for every supplier. Anything not public earns 0 points.

[How the EV score works](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/#ev-score)

-   Hegg Energy 8.0 /10 EV score · Strong
-   SamSam 7.0 /10 EV score · Good

-   Charging

    weight 35%

    Hegg Energy 10.0

    SamSam 10.0

-   Costs

    weight 30%

    Hegg Energy 3.3

    SamSam 3.3

-   Certainty

    weight 25%

    Hegg Energy 10.0

    SamSam 10.0

-   ERE

    weight 10%

    Hegg Energy 10.0

    SamSam 0.0

See every point per check+

EV score: points per check
| Check | Hegg Energy | SamSam |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Dynamic contract Charging · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Smart charging in the app Charging · Yes: 1 · coming soon: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Home-battery steering Charging · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Fixed fee public Costs · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 0.5 / 1 |
| Markup per kWh public Costs · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.5 | 0.5 / 1 | 0.5 / 1 |
| Supplier cost per year Costs · Cheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.5 | 0 / 1 | 0 / 1 |
| ACM license active Certainty · Yes: 1 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Years licensed Certainty · 5+ years: 1 · 2+ years: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Taking new customers Certainty · Yes: 1 · unknown: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 1 / 1 |
| Own ERE deal ERE · Open: 1 · waitlist or pre-registration: 0.5 | 1 / 1 | 0 / 1 |

For EV drivers

## What they offer beyond the price

The first sentence of what the supplier itself says. Everything is on each supplier's page, with sources.

-   ### Smart charging in the app

    Hegg Energy Yes

    Hegg Smart Charging (free for customers): the Hegg App schedules charging at cheap, green moments via a link to your car brand's account.

    SamSam Yes

    SamSam installs charge points and mentions charging at the cheapest hours; no details on automatic control.

-   ### ERE deal

    Hegg Energy Yes

    Via partner Plugchoice, as part of Hegg Smart Charging: activate ERE registration once in the Hegg App; requires a charger with a MID meter.

    SamSam No

    No ERE offer for home charging found on the brand's own website.

-   ### Home battery

    Hegg Energy Yes

    Hegg sells an AlphaESS home battery and controls batteries via Hegg Intelligence for self-consumption and the imbalance and day-ahead markets.

    SamSam Yes

    SamSam sells and installs home batteries with smart control that buys and sells automatically, combined with solar panels and a dynamic contract.

-   ### Feed-in

    Hegg Energy

    Net metering applies until 2027; the feed-in credit is calculated with the year's average quarter-hour price.

    SamSam

    On the dynamic contract SamSam says you receive the market price for each exported kWh.

-   ### Term and cancelling

    Hegg Energy

    Cancellable monthly without a penalty.

    SamSam

    Cancellable monthly without penalty; smart meter required.

-   ### Fixed fee in short

    Hegg Energy

    Fixed supply costs €7.50 per month and purchase fee €0.022 per kWh; with Hegg Intelligence control of a home battery or car (V2G) the purchase fee is €0.017 per kWh.

    SamSam

    €7.99 fixed supply fee per connection per month.

Which one suits whom?

## The differences at a glance

No winner and no advice: these are the differences in the public data. Lower means a lower amount, nothing more.

Hegg Energy

-   Price per quarter-hour
-   Own ERE deal, open now

[All about Hegg Energy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/hegg/)

SamSam

No item where only SamSam has a lower amount or offers something extra compared with Hegg Energy.

[All about SamSam](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/samsam/)

Not certain which is lower: fixed fee, markup and supplier cost per year. At least one of the two does not say whether the amount includes VAT (\* in the table).

Both

-   Smart charging in its own app
-   Steers a home battery
-   Taking new customers

Sources

## Where the numbers come from

Hegg Energy

-   [ACM: energieleveranciers met een vergunning (elektriciteit)](https://www.acm.nl/nl/energie/elektriciteit-en-gas/energie-verkopen/energie-leveren-met-vergunning/energieleveranciers-met-een-vergunning)
-   [Hegg: dynamisch energiecontract (tarieven, kwartierprijs, opzeggen)](https://hegg.energy/dynamisch-energiecontract)
-   [Hegg: voorwaarden (wederverkoper van EnergyZero B.V.)](https://hegg.energy/voorwaarden)
-   [Hegg Energie Diensten: productvoorwaarden dynamische prijs stroom (maart 2026)](https://storage.googleapis.com/energyzero-terms-and-conditions/0c9cfcd4-591c-471a-8be4-bdd52b306d48/productvoorwaarden_dynamische_prijs_stroom_bijlage_d1.pdf)
-   [Hegg Support: tarieven per variant (via zoekresultaten)](https://support.hegg.energy/hc/nl/articles/30235431043612-Onze-tarieven-bij-dynamische-energie-wat-betaal-je-per-variant)
-   [Hegg: Slim Laden en ERE via Plugchoice](https://hegg.energy/hegg-intelligence/slim-laden)
-   [Hegg: bidirectioneel laden (V2G)](https://hegg.energy/hegg-intelligence/bidirectioneel-laden)
-   [Hegg: thuisbatterij](https://hegg.energy/thuisbatterij)
-   [Hegg: homepage (€ 7,50 per maand voor je aansluiting)](https://hegg.energy/)
-   [Mijndomein Energie (verwijst door naar Hegg)](https://www.mijndomein.nl/energie)

Checked on September 27, 2026

SamSam

-   [SamSam groene energie (tarieven dynamisch)](https://samsam.nu/groene-energie)
-   [SamSam vraag en antwoord](https://samsam.nu/vraag-antwoord)
-   [SamSam algemene voorwaarden (leveranciers)](https://samsam.nu/algemene-voorwaarden)
-   [SamSam leveringsvoorwaarden dynamische uurprijs stroom (PDF)](https://samsam-nu.b-cdn.net/app/uploads/2023/04/SamSam%E2%80%94-Leveringsvoorwaarden-Dynamische-Uurprijs-Stroom-%E2%80%94-Bijlage-D1-%E2%80%94-01-04-2023.pdf)
-   [SamSam laadpalen](https://samsam.nu/laadpalen)
-   [SamSam thuisbatterij](https://samsam.nu/thuisbatterij)
-   [EnergyZero actuele prijzen (kwartierprijzen sinds 2026)](https://www.energyzero.nl/actuele-prijzen)

Checked on September 27, 2026

Average household: [Milieu Centraal - Gemiddeld energieverbruik](https://www.milieucentraal.nl/energie-besparen/inzicht-in-je-energierekening/gemiddeld-energieverbruik/)

### More comparisons

-   [Hegg Energy vs Tibber](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/hegg-vs-tibber/)
-   [Frank Energie vs Hegg Energy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/frank-energie-vs-hegg/)
-   [Hegg Energy vs Zonneplan](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/hegg-vs-zonneplan/)
-   [Hegg Energy vs NextEnergy](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/hegg-vs-nextenergy/)

[All energy suppliers](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/energy-suppliers/) [All dynamic contracts](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/dynamic-energy-contract/)

Questions

## Frequently asked questions

Answered with the numbers on this page, the same way for both suppliers.

Which is cheaper: Hegg Energy or SamSam?

For an example household (2,430 kWh household use plus 2,700 kWh home charging), Hegg Energy charges €203\* a year in fixed fees and markup, SamSam €205\*. The difference is €2 a year, but Hegg Energy and SamSam do not say whether the amounts include VAT, so which one is cheaper is not certain. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both. \* Amount as the supplier publishes it, without saying whether it includes VAT.

Can you smart-charge your EV with Hegg Energy and SamSam?

Hegg Energy: yes. Hegg Smart Charging (free for customers): the Hegg App schedules charging at cheap, green moments via a link to your car brand's account. SamSam: yes. SamSam installs charge points and mentions charging at the cheapest hours; no details on automatic control.

Do Hegg Energy and SamSam have an ERE deal?

Hegg Energy: yes. Via partner Plugchoice, as part of Hegg Smart Charging: activate ERE registration once in the Hegg App; requires a charger with a MID meter. SamSam: no. No ERE offer for home charging found on the brand's own website. Since 1 January 2026, ERE payment for home charging needs a charger with a built-in MID meter; you can also arrange ERE separately from your energy supplier or charging card.

Do Hegg Energy and SamSam use hourly or quarter-hourly prices?

Hegg Energy prices per quarter-hour, SamSam at an interval it does not state.

What is the EV score of Hegg Energy and SamSam?

Hegg Energy 8.0/10 (strong), SamSam 7.0/10 (good). The EV score counts ten public checks in four pillars: charging 35%, costs 30%, certainty 25% and ERE 10%, with the same rules for every supplier.

Can you cancel Hegg Energy and SamSam at any time?

Hegg Energy: Cancellable monthly without a penalty. SamSam: Cancellable monthly without penalty; smart meter required.

## Your ERE payment is arranged separately

Whichever supplier you use: with a charger that has a built-in MID meter you earn ERE payment for what you charge at home. Compare the providers on net earnings and trust.

[Compare ERE providers](https://erevergelijken.eu/en/compare/)
