Skip to main content

Energy suppliers compared

Hegg Energy vs Tibberdynamic contracts compared, EV drivers included

What does home charging with Hegg Energy and Tibber cost for your car?

EV cost scan: your car, mileage and charging habits

Hegg Energy and Tibber side by side: fixed fee €7.50* and €6.99* per month, markup €0.0220* and €0.0180* per kWh. At 5,130 kWh a year (household plus home charging), they differ by €27 a year in fixed fees and markup; which is cheaper depends on VAT, which is not stated. What differs: Hegg Energy: ACM license since 2018; Tibber: ACM license since 2021.

Amounts from the suppliers' own sites, checked on September 27, 2026 · no paid placement

Hegg EnergyEnergy supplier
EV scoreStrong, 8.0 out of 10
TibberEnergy supplier
EV scoreStrong, 9.0 out of 10
How the EV score is built

The numbers

Hegg Energy and Tibber side by side

Only what the supplier itself charges: fixed fee and markup. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both.

Hegg Energy and Tibber: costs, contract and EV score
ItemHegg EnergyTibber
Costs
Fixed feeper month€7.50*€6.99*
Markupper kWh€0.0220*€0.0180*Lower
Supplier costper year, at 5,130 kWh€203*€176*
Contract and charging
Price perquarter-hourquarter-hour
Smart charging in the appYesYes
Home-battery steeringYesYes
Own ERE dealYesYes
Certainty
Taking new customersYesYes
ACM licenseActive since 2018Active since 2021
EV score8.0/10 · Strong9.0/10 · Strong
  • * Amount as the supplier publishes it; the supplier does not say whether it includes VAT.
  • Marked green: the lower amount, only when it stays lower if an amount with * were excl. VAT (then 21% is added). No mark: the same, or not certain which is lower.
  • Supplier cost per year: 12 × fixed fee + markup × 5,130 kWh (2,430 kWh average household plus 2,700 kWh home charging, 15,000 km a year), excl. energy tax and grid costs.

Price per month

What a kWh cost with Hegg Energy and Tibber

Smart-charged in the four cheapest hours of each day, with energy tax, VAT and each supplier's markup. The market price is the same for both, so the lines move together. The gap between them is the difference in markup: €0.0040* per kWh.

€0.188*/kWhHegg Energy: smart charging, average over the last 12 months
€0.184*/kWhTibber: smart charging, average over the last 12 months
€27*a yearDifference in supplier cost per year at 5,130 kWhWhich is lower is not certain: VAT not stated

Smart charging, price per kWh

Last 24 complete months · markup difference €0.0040* per kWh

See the figures per month
Price per kWh with smart charging per month, Hegg Energy and Tibber
MonthHegg EnergyTibber
September 2026€0.208€0.204
August 2026€0.174€0.170
July 2026€0.159€0.155
June 2026€0.173€0.169
May 2026€0.148€0.144
April 2026€0.128€0.124
March 2026€0.172€0.168
February 2026€0.215€0.211
January 2026€0.232€0.228
December 2025€0.221€0.217
November 2025€0.223€0.219
October 2025€0.203€0.199
September 2025€0.178€0.174
August 2025€0.164€0.160
July 2025€0.189€0.185
June 2025€0.142€0.138
May 2025€0.128€0.124
April 2025€0.150€0.146
March 2025€0.183€0.179
February 2025€0.258€0.254
January 2025€0.238€0.234
December 2024€0.224€0.220
November 2024€0.248€0.244
October 2024€0.214€0.210

Per kWh incl. VAT and energy tax, excl. fixed supply costs, grid costs and the tax reduction. Markup as we record it per month; before September 27, 2026 the first markup we saw. * Markup published without stating VAT. Energy tax and VAT: Belastingdienst, Overzicht tarieven energiebelasting. Market price: Energy-Charts (Fraunhofer ISE), data Bundesnetzagentur | SMARD.de (CC BY 4.0)

EV score

Score per pillar

Ten public checks in four pillars, the same rules for every supplier. Anything not public earns 0 points.

  • Hegg Energy8.0/10EV score · Strong
  • Tibber9.0/10EV score · Strong
  • Charging

    weight 35%

    Hegg Energy10.0
    Tibber10.0
  • Costs

    weight 30%

    Hegg Energy3.3
    Tibber6.7
  • Certainty

    weight 25%

    Hegg Energy10.0
    Tibber10.0
  • ERE

    weight 10%

    Hegg Energy10.0
    Tibber10.0
See every point per check
EV score: points per check
CheckHegg EnergyTibber
Dynamic contractCharging · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Smart charging in the appCharging · Yes: 1 · coming soon: 0.51 / 11 / 1
Home-battery steeringCharging · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Fixed fee publicCosts · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.50.5 / 10.5 / 1
Markup per kWh publicCosts · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.50.5 / 10.5 / 1
Supplier cost per yearCosts · Cheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.50 / 11 / 1
ACM license activeCertainty · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Years licensedCertainty · 5+ years: 1 · 2+ years: 0.51 / 11 / 1
Taking new customersCertainty · Yes: 1 · unknown: 0.51 / 11 / 1
Own ERE dealERE · Open: 1 · waitlist or pre-registration: 0.51 / 11 / 1

For EV drivers

What they offer beyond the price

The first sentence of what the supplier itself says. Everything is on each supplier's page, with sources.

  • Smart charging in the app

    Hegg EnergyYes

    Hegg Smart Charging (free for customers): the Hegg App schedules charging at cheap, green moments via a link to your car brand's account.

    TibberYes

    Smart charging in the Tibber app moves charging to the cheapest moments, taking your departure time into account.

  • ERE deal

    Hegg EnergyYes

    Via partner Plugchoice, as part of Hegg Smart Charging: activate ERE registration once in the Hegg App; requires a charger with a MID meter.

    TibberYes

    Via partner Joulo: 10% service fee (instead of 20%) while you have a Tibber energy contract.

    View this ERE offer
  • Home battery

    Hegg EnergyYes

    Hegg sells an AlphaESS home battery and controls batteries via Hegg Intelligence for self-consumption and the imbalance and day-ahead markets.

    TibberYes

    Tibber sells the Homevolt and the Tibber Smart Battery System.

  • Feed-in

    Hegg Energy

    Net metering applies until 2027; the feed-in credit is calculated with the year's average quarter-hour price.

    Tibber

    You receive the market price at the moment of feed-in, minus a selling fee of €0.0180 per kWh incl. VAT (since 1 September 2026).

  • Term and cancelling

    Hegg Energy

    Cancellable monthly without a penalty.

    Tibber

    No fixed term or notice period; can be cancelled at any time without a penalty or termination fee.

  • Fixed fee in short

    Hegg Energy

    Fixed supply costs €7.50 per month and purchase fee €0.022 per kWh; with Hegg Intelligence control of a home battery or car (V2G) the purchase fee is €0.017 per kWh.

    Tibber

    Fixed supply costs €6.99 per month for electricity (contracts from 1 September 2026; older contracts: the amount in the contract).

Which one suits whom?

The differences at a glance

No winner and no advice: these are the differences in the public data. Lower means a lower amount, nothing more.

Hegg Energy

  • ACM license since 2018
All about Hegg Energy

Tibber

  • Lower markup: €0.0180* against €0.0220* per kWh
  • ACM license since 2021
All about Tibber

Not certain which is lower: fixed fee and supplier cost per year. At least one of the two does not say whether the amount includes VAT (* in the table).

Both

  • Price per quarter-hour
  • Smart charging in its own app
  • Steers a home battery
  • Own ERE deal, open now
  • Taking new customers

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Answered with the numbers on this page, the same way for both suppliers.

Which is cheaper: Hegg Energy or Tibber?

For an example household (2,430 kWh household use plus 2,700 kWh home charging), Hegg Energy charges €203* a year in fixed fees and markup, Tibber €176*. The difference is €27 a year, but Hegg Energy and Tibber do not say whether the amounts include VAT, so which one is cheaper is not certain. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both. * Amount as the supplier publishes it, without saying whether it includes VAT.

Can you smart-charge your EV with Hegg Energy and Tibber?

Hegg Energy: yes. Hegg Smart Charging (free for customers): the Hegg App schedules charging at cheap, green moments via a link to your car brand's account. Tibber: yes. Smart charging in the Tibber app moves charging to the cheapest moments, taking your departure time into account.

Do Hegg Energy and Tibber have an ERE deal?

Hegg Energy: yes. Via partner Plugchoice, as part of Hegg Smart Charging: activate ERE registration once in the Hegg App; requires a charger with a MID meter. Tibber: yes. Via partner Joulo: 10% service fee (instead of 20%) while you have a Tibber energy contract. Since 1 January 2026, ERE payment for home charging needs a charger with a built-in MID meter; you can also arrange ERE separately from your energy supplier or charging card.

Do Hegg Energy and Tibber use hourly or quarter-hourly prices?

Hegg Energy prices per quarter-hour, Tibber per quarter-hour.

What is the EV score of Hegg Energy and Tibber?

Hegg Energy 8.0/10 (strong), Tibber 9.0/10 (strong). The EV score counts ten public checks in four pillars: charging 35%, costs 30%, certainty 25% and ERE 10%, with the same rules for every supplier.

Can you cancel Hegg Energy and Tibber at any time?

Hegg Energy: Cancellable monthly without a penalty. Tibber: No fixed term or notice period; can be cancelled at any time without a penalty or termination fee.

Your ERE payment is arranged separately

Whichever supplier you use: with a charger that has a built-in MID meter you earn ERE payment for what you charge at home. Compare the providers on net earnings and trust.

Compare ERE providers