Skip to main content

Tap Electric

Charging card · Tap Electric

No subscription neededNo start feePrice shown firstAll of EuropeCard and app
Subscription per month
None
Start fee per session
None
Surcharge on the charger price
5%

What does your charging cost with Tap Electric?

EV cost scan with your mileage and charging habits

Checked on October 7, 2026

9.4

Card score

Strong · 9.4/10

Costs, transparency and usability, 9 public checks

  • Costs (40%)10.0
  • Transparency (35%)8.3
  • Usability (25%)10.0
How this score is made

Costs

Card (one-off)
None
Subscription per month
None
Start fee per session
None
Surcharge on the charger price
5%

The price is the charge point operator's tariff plus your plan's transaction fee. The app shows each charger's price in advance, including transaction fee and VAT (terms art. 13.4). Tap does not operate chargers and leaves out chargers that do not share reliable real-time prices. The plan prices are for residents of the Netherlands only. Replacing a Tap Tag is at the driver's cost; the amount is not published.

* Amount as the provider publishes it; the provider does not say whether it includes VAT.

Worked example

Extra cost per month on top of the charge point’s price at 100 kWh in 8 sessions at public chargers of €0.44 per kWh.

Without subscription / entry plan
€2.20*
Charging prices per network

Subscriptions

PlanPer monthStartSurchargeExample /mo
Pay-as-you-go (alleen app)No subscription and no card: charging via the app, the charge point's tariff plus 10% transaction fee per session. Tap pre-authorises an amount on your payment method.NoneNone10%€4.40
Light€0.00 per month, free card, the charge point's tariff plus 5% transaction fee per session, monthly billing.NoneNone5%€2.20
Roamer€2.50 per month, free card, 0% transaction fee. VAT basis of the monthly fee not stated.€2.50NoneNone: you pay the charge point’s price€2.50
Family€4.00 per month, two free cards, 0% transaction fee. VAT basis not stated.€4.00NoneNone: you pay the charge point’s price€4.00
Tap Equans Groningen/Drenthe€1.25 per month with 0% transaction fee, only for residents of the provinces of Groningen and Drenthe (excluding the municipalities of Groningen and Eemsdelta); postcode is checked in the app.€1.25NoneNone: you pay the charge point’s price€1.25

Where and for whom

Works across Europe
Yes
Price shown before charging
Yes
Taking new customers
Yes
For whom
Anyone in the Netherlands

Coverage: Charging in the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Luxembourg, Italy, France, Spain, Austria, Ireland and the UK, at chargers shown in the app.

Prices per charger or network

Extras

ERE deal: Yes. Tap Green Credits: ERE service for chargers in the Tap back office or charging with the Tap app or card. View this ERE offer

Home charging: Free charge point management for home chargers (OCPP 1.6J). Home charging can be reimbursed by an employer via Tap Fleet, using the Tap card or the employer's existing fuel card.

Business: Company name and VAT number can be added to invoices; Tap Fleet offers fleet management with one invoice for public and home charging (price per driver or vehicle, amount not on the card page).

Contract: Monthly plans; change or cancel any time in the app. Cancellation takes effect at the end of the current billing period, without pro-rata refund.

Good to know: Terms and conditions version 9 September 2026. New or high-volume users may be billed more often.

Sources

Checked on October 7, 2026

Price history

What changed at Tap Electric

We record every check of our data, since September 27, 2026. Latest check: October 21, 2026. Corrections of our own mistakes do not count as changes.

Card fee
€0.00
unchanged
Subscription per month
€0.00 per month
unchanged
Start fee per session
€0.00
unchanged
Surcharge (percentage)
5%
unchanged
Example: extra cost per month
€2.20 per month
changed 1×
Charging card score
9.4/10
unchanged
  1. Example: extra cost per month: €2.05 per month to €2.20 per month
All trends: electricity price, charging and ERE

Card score

Card score 9.4: how it is calculated

Nine public checks, the same for every card. Anything not public earns 0 points.

Costs

10.0/10 · weight 40%
  • Cost in the worked exampleCheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.5 · not computable: 01 / 1
  • No subscription neededEntry plan without a monthly fee: 11 / 1
  • Start fee per sessionNone: 1 · up to €0.35: 0.51 / 1

Transparency

8.3/10 · weight 35%
  • Price shown before chargingYes: 1 (AFIR Art. 5(5))1 / 1
  • Price computable up frontNo, fixed or percentage surcharge: 1 · flat own kWh price: 0.51 / 1
  • All amounts publicWith VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.50.5 / 1

Usability

10.0/10 · weight 25%
  • Works across EuropeYes: 11 / 1
  • For any carNo brand restriction: 11 / 1
  • Card and appBoth: 1 · one of them: 0.51 / 1
All charging cards