Skip to main content

Energy suppliers compared

Blue Current Energy vs Zonneplandynamic contracts compared, EV drivers included

What does home charging with Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan cost for your car?

EV cost scan: your car, mileage and charging habits

Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan side by side: fixed fee €6.20* and €6.25* per month, markup €0.0200* and €0.0200 per kWh. At 5,130 kWh a year (household plus home charging), they differ by only €1 a year in fixed fees and markup: practically the same. What differs: Blue Current Energy: price per hour and ACM license since 2022; Zonneplan: price per quarter-hour, steers a home battery and ACM license since 2020.

Amounts from the suppliers' own sites, checked on September 27, 2026 · no paid placement

Blue Current EnergyEnergy supplier
EV scoreGood, 7.4 out of 10
ZonneplanEnergy supplier
EV scoreStrong, 9.5 out of 10
How the EV score is built

The numbers

Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan side by side

Only what the supplier itself charges: fixed fee and markup. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both.

Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan: costs, contract and EV score
ItemBlue Current EnergyZonneplan
Costs
Fixed feeper month€6.20*€6.25*
Markupper kWh€0.0200*€0.0200
Supplier costper year, at 5,130 kWh€177*€178*
Contract and charging
Price perhourquarter-hour
Smart charging in the appYesYes
Home-battery steeringNot foundYes
Own ERE dealYesYes
Certainty
Taking new customersYesYes
ACM licenseActive since 2022Active since 2020
EV score7.4/10 · Good9.5/10 · Strong
  • * Amount as the supplier publishes it; the supplier does not say whether it includes VAT.
  • Marked green: the lower amount, only when it stays lower if an amount with * were excl. VAT (then 21% is added). No mark: the same, or not certain which is lower.
  • Supplier cost per year: 12 × fixed fee + markup × 5,130 kWh (2,430 kWh average household plus 2,700 kWh home charging, 15,000 km a year), excl. energy tax and grid costs.

Price per month

What a kWh cost with Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan

Smart-charged in the four cheapest hours of each day, with energy tax, VAT and each supplier's markup. The market price is the same for both, so the lines move together. The markups are equal: the lines coincide.

€0.186*/kWhBlue Current Energy: smart charging, average over the last 12 months
€0.186/kWhZonneplan: smart charging, average over the last 12 months
€1*a yearDifference in supplier cost per year at 5,130 kWhWhich is lower is not certain: VAT not stated

Smart charging, price per kWh

Last 24 complete months · markup difference €0.0000* per kWh

See the figures per month
Price per kWh with smart charging per month, Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan
MonthBlue Current EnergyZonneplan
September 2026€0.206€0.206
August 2026€0.172€0.172
July 2026€0.157€0.157
June 2026€0.171€0.171
May 2026€0.146€0.146
April 2026€0.126€0.126
March 2026€0.170€0.170
February 2026€0.213€0.213
January 2026€0.230€0.230
December 2025€0.219€0.219
November 2025€0.221€0.221
October 2025€0.201€0.201
September 2025€0.176€0.176
August 2025€0.162€0.162
July 2025€0.187€0.187
June 2025€0.140€0.140
May 2025€0.126€0.126
April 2025€0.148€0.148
March 2025€0.181€0.181
February 2025€0.256€0.256
January 2025€0.236€0.236
December 2024€0.222€0.222
November 2024€0.246€0.246
October 2024€0.212€0.212

Per kWh incl. VAT and energy tax, excl. fixed supply costs, grid costs and the tax reduction. Markup as we record it per month; before September 27, 2026 the first markup we saw. * Markup published without stating VAT. Energy tax and VAT: Belastingdienst, Overzicht tarieven energiebelasting. Market price: Energy-Charts (Fraunhofer ISE), data Bundesnetzagentur | SMARD.de (CC BY 4.0)

EV score

Score per pillar

Ten public checks in four pillars, the same rules for every supplier. Anything not public earns 0 points.

  • Blue Current Energy7.4/10EV score · Good
  • Zonneplan9.5/10EV score · Strong
  • Charging

    weight 35%

    Blue Current Energy6.7
    Zonneplan10.0
  • Costs

    weight 30%

    Blue Current Energy6.7
    Zonneplan8.3
  • Certainty

    weight 25%

    Blue Current Energy8.3
    Zonneplan10.0
  • ERE

    weight 10%

    Blue Current Energy10.0
    Zonneplan10.0
See every point per check
EV score: points per check
CheckBlue Current EnergyZonneplan
Dynamic contractCharging · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Smart charging in the appCharging · Yes: 1 · coming soon: 0.51 / 11 / 1
Home-battery steeringCharging · Yes: 10 / 11 / 1
Fixed fee publicCosts · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.50.5 / 10.5 / 1
Markup per kWh publicCosts · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.50.5 / 11 / 1
Supplier cost per yearCosts · Cheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.51 / 11 / 1
ACM license activeCertainty · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Years licensedCertainty · 5+ years: 1 · 2+ years: 0.50.5 / 11 / 1
Taking new customersCertainty · Yes: 1 · unknown: 0.51 / 11 / 1
Own ERE dealERE · Open: 1 · waitlist or pre-registration: 0.51 / 11 / 1

For EV drivers

What they offer beyond the price

The first sentence of what the supplier itself says. Everything is on each supplier's page, with sources.

  • Smart charging in the app

    Blue Current EnergyYes

    Price-based charging for Blue Current-built charge points with Smart Reader: uses EPEX prices for the next 24 hours and slows or pauses charging during expensive hours.

    ZonneplanYes

    Powerplay charges the car automatically at the cheapest moments based on your departure time.

  • ERE deal

    Blue Current EnergyYes

    Blue Current registers and sells EREs for charging data from charge points with a MID meter linked to the Blue Current back office (all Blue Current chargers have a MID meter), via an unnamed certified registrant.

    ZonneplanYes

    Zonneplan ERE charging bonus, credited on the energy bill; only with Zonneplan Energie and a charger with a MID meter (Zonneplan Charge 1 and 2 are not eligible).

    View this ERE offer
  • Home battery

    Blue Current EnergyNot found
    ZonneplanYes

    Zonneplan Nexus home battery with Powerplay: charges and discharges based on prices on several energy markets (imbalance, intraday and day-ahead).

  • Feed-in

    Blue Current Energy

    No feed-in costs.

    Zonneplan

    No feed-in costs; you receive the quarter-hour price.

  • Term and cancelling

    Blue Current Energy

    No fixed term and no penalties according to the help articles.

    Zonneplan

    No fixed term; can be cancelled daily at no cost.

  • Fixed fee in short

    Blue Current Energy

    Blue Current states fixed costs of €6.20 per month per connection and a purchase fee of €0.0200 per kWh of electricity; whether these amounts include VAT is not stated.

    Zonneplan

    Fixed supply costs €6.25 per product per month; Zonneplan's own pages do not say whether this includes VAT.

Which one suits whom?

The differences at a glance

No winner and no advice: these are the differences in the public data. Lower means a lower amount, nothing more.

Blue Current Energy

  • Price per hour
  • ACM license since 2022
All about Blue Current Energy

Zonneplan

  • Price per quarter-hour
  • Steers a home battery
  • ACM license since 2020
All about Zonneplan

Not certain which is lower: fixed fee and supplier cost per year. At least one of the two does not say whether the amount includes VAT (* in the table).

Both

  • Smart charging in its own app
  • Own ERE deal, open now
  • Taking new customers

Sources

Where the numbers come from

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Answered with the numbers on this page, the same way for both suppliers.

Which is cheaper: Blue Current Energy or Zonneplan?

For an example household (2,430 kWh household use plus 2,700 kWh home charging), Blue Current Energy charges €177* a year in fixed fees and markup, Zonneplan €178*. The difference is €1 a year, but Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan do not say whether the amounts include VAT, so which one is cheaper is not certain. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both. * Amount as the supplier publishes it, without saying whether it includes VAT.

Can you smart-charge your EV with Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan?

Blue Current Energy: yes. Price-based charging for Blue Current-built charge points with Smart Reader: uses EPEX prices for the next 24 hours and slows or pauses charging during expensive hours. Zonneplan: yes. Powerplay charges the car automatically at the cheapest moments based on your departure time.

Do Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan have an ERE deal?

Blue Current Energy: yes. Blue Current registers and sells EREs for charging data from charge points with a MID meter linked to the Blue Current back office (all Blue Current chargers have a MID meter), via an unnamed certified registrant. Zonneplan: yes. Zonneplan ERE charging bonus, credited on the energy bill; only with Zonneplan Energie and a charger with a MID meter (Zonneplan Charge 1 and 2 are not eligible). Since 1 January 2026, ERE payment for home charging needs a charger with a built-in MID meter; you can also arrange ERE separately from your energy supplier or charging card.

Do Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan use hourly or quarter-hourly prices?

Blue Current Energy prices per hour, Zonneplan per quarter-hour.

What is the EV score of Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan?

Blue Current Energy 7.4/10 (good), Zonneplan 9.5/10 (strong). The EV score counts ten public checks in four pillars: charging 35%, costs 30%, certainty 25% and ERE 10%, with the same rules for every supplier.

Can you cancel Blue Current Energy and Zonneplan at any time?

Blue Current Energy: No fixed term and no penalties according to the help articles. Zonneplan: No fixed term; can be cancelled daily at no cost.

Your ERE payment is arranged separately

Whichever supplier you use: with a charger that has a built-in MID meter you earn ERE payment for what you charge at home. Compare the providers on net earnings and trust.

Compare ERE providers