Skip to main content

Energy suppliers compared

ANWB Energie vs Frank Energiedynamic contracts compared, EV drivers included

What does home charging with ANWB Energie and Frank Energie cost for your car?

EV cost scan: your car, mileage and charging habits

ANWB Energie and Frank Energie side by side: fixed fee €8.50* and €7.25* per month, markup €0.0180 and €0.0182* per kWh. At 5,130 kWh a year (household plus home charging), they differ by only €14 a year in fixed fees and markup: practically the same. What differs: ANWB Energie: smart charging announced (not available yet) and ACM license since 2022; Frank Energie: smart charging in its own app, steers a home battery, own ERE deal (open now) and ACM license since 2020.

Amounts from the suppliers' own sites, checked on September 27, 2026 · no paid placement

ANWB EnergieEnergy supplier
EV scoreFair, 5.8 out of 10
Frank EnergieEnergy supplier
EV scoreStrong, 8.5 out of 10
How the EV score is built

The numbers

ANWB Energie and Frank Energie side by side

Only what the supplier itself charges: fixed fee and markup. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both.

ANWB Energie and Frank Energie: costs, contract and EV score
ItemANWB EnergieFrank Energie
Costs
Fixed feeper month€8.50*€7.25*
Markupper kWh€0.0180Lower€0.0182*
Supplier costper year, at 5,130 kWh€194*€180*
Contract and charging
Price perhourhour
Smart charging in the appComing soonYes
Home-battery steeringNot foundYes
Own ERE dealNoYes
Certainty
Taking new customersYesYes
ACM licenseActive since 2022Active since 2020
EV score5.8/10 · Fair8.5/10 · Strong
  • * Amount as the supplier publishes it; the supplier does not say whether it includes VAT.
  • Marked green: the lower amount, only when it stays lower if an amount with * were excl. VAT (then 21% is added). No mark: the same, or not certain which is lower.
  • Supplier cost per year: 12 × fixed fee + markup × 5,130 kWh (2,430 kWh average household plus 2,700 kWh home charging, 15,000 km a year), excl. energy tax and grid costs.

Price per month

What a kWh cost with ANWB Energie and Frank Energie

Smart-charged in the four cheapest hours of each day, with energy tax, VAT and each supplier's markup. The market price is the same for both, so the lines move together. The gap between them is the difference in markup: €0.0002* per kWh.

€0.184/kWhANWB Energie: smart charging, average over the last 12 months
€0.184*/kWhFrank Energie: smart charging, average over the last 12 months
€14*a yearDifference in supplier cost per year at 5,130 kWhWhich is lower is not certain: VAT not stated

Smart charging, price per kWh

Last 24 complete months · markup difference €0.0002* per kWh

See the figures per month
Price per kWh with smart charging per month, ANWB Energie and Frank Energie
MonthANWB EnergieFrank Energie
September 2026€0.204€0.204
August 2026€0.170€0.170
July 2026€0.155€0.155
June 2026€0.169€0.169
May 2026€0.144€0.144
April 2026€0.124€0.124
March 2026€0.168€0.168
February 2026€0.211€0.212
January 2026€0.228€0.228
December 2025€0.217€0.217
November 2025€0.219€0.219
October 2025€0.199€0.199
September 2025€0.174€0.174
August 2025€0.160€0.161
July 2025€0.185€0.186
June 2025€0.138€0.139
May 2025€0.124€0.124
April 2025€0.146€0.146
March 2025€0.179€0.179
February 2025€0.254€0.254
January 2025€0.234€0.234
December 2024€0.220€0.220
November 2024€0.244€0.244
October 2024€0.210€0.211

Per kWh incl. VAT and energy tax, excl. fixed supply costs, grid costs and the tax reduction. Markup as we record it per month; before September 27, 2026 the first markup we saw. * Markup published without stating VAT. Energy tax and VAT: Belastingdienst, Overzicht tarieven energiebelasting. Market price: Energy-Charts (Fraunhofer ISE), data Bundesnetzagentur | SMARD.de (CC BY 4.0)

EV score

Score per pillar

Ten public checks in four pillars, the same rules for every supplier. Anything not public earns 0 points.

  • ANWB Energie5.8/10EV score · Fair
  • Frank Energie8.5/10EV score · Strong
  • Charging

    weight 35%

    ANWB Energie5.0
    Frank Energie10.0
  • Costs

    weight 30%

    ANWB Energie6.7
    Frank Energie5.0
  • Certainty

    weight 25%

    ANWB Energie8.3
    Frank Energie10.0
  • ERE

    weight 10%

    ANWB Energie0.0
    Frank Energie10.0
See every point per check
EV score: points per check
CheckANWB EnergieFrank Energie
Dynamic contractCharging · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Smart charging in the appCharging · Yes: 1 · coming soon: 0.50.5 / 11 / 1
Home-battery steeringCharging · Yes: 10 / 11 / 1
Fixed fee publicCosts · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.50.5 / 10.5 / 1
Markup per kWh publicCosts · With VAT stated: 1 · without: 0.51 / 10.5 / 1
Supplier cost per yearCosts · Cheapest third: 1 · middle third: 0.50.5 / 10.5 / 1
ACM license activeCertainty · Yes: 11 / 11 / 1
Years licensedCertainty · 5+ years: 1 · 2+ years: 0.50.5 / 11 / 1
Taking new customersCertainty · Yes: 1 · unknown: 0.51 / 11 / 1
Own ERE dealERE · Open: 1 · waitlist or pre-registration: 0.50 / 11 / 1

For EV drivers

What they offer beyond the price

The first sentence of what the supplier itself says. Everything is on each supplier's page, with sources.

  • Smart charging in the app

    ANWB EnergieComing soon

    According to anwb.nl a new Smart Charging app is in development ('more soon'); no working steering of charging on hourly prices is offered now.

    Frank EnergieYes

    Smart Charging in the Frank app: set a departure time and Frank schedules charging at the cheapest moments.

  • ERE deal

    ANWB EnergieNo

    ANWB explains ERE on anwb.nl and refers to registration services in general, but offers no ERE service itself and names no partner.

    Frank EnergieYes

    Via registration service Joulo (since 16 September 2026), for customers with a suitable charge point with a MID meter.

    View this ERE offer
  • Home battery

    ANWB EnergieNot found
    Frank EnergieYes

    Slim Stroom Handelen: Frank steers a linked home battery to charge at low and discharge at high prices, including on the imbalance market; open to multiple brands.

  • Feed-in

    ANWB Energie

    No feed-in costs.

    Frank Energie

    No feed-in costs.

  • Term and cancelling

    ANWB Energie

    No fixed term; can be cancelled any day without a cancellation fee.

    Frank Energie

    Indefinite term; cancellation is free and there is no notice period.

  • Fixed fee in short

    ANWB Energie

    Fixed supply costs €8.50 per month for electricity (gas €8.50, €9.75 from 1 September 2026); none of ANWB's own pages say whether this amount includes or excludes VAT (VAT basis not stated).

    Frank Energie

    Both amounts come from Frank Energie's comparison table (updated April 2026): fixed supply fee €7.25 per month and purchase fee €0.0182 per kWh.

Which one suits whom?

The differences at a glance

No winner and no advice: these are the differences in the public data. Lower means a lower amount, nothing more.

ANWB Energie

  • Lower markup: €0.0180 against €0.0182* per kWh
  • Smart charging announced, not available yet
  • ACM license since 2022
All about ANWB Energie

Frank Energie

  • Smart charging in its own app
  • Steers a home battery
  • Own ERE deal, open now
  • ACM license since 2020
All about Frank Energie

Not certain which is lower: fixed fee and supplier cost per year. At least one of the two does not say whether the amount includes VAT (* in the table).

Both

  • Price per hour
  • Taking new customers

Sources

Where the numbers come from

Average household: Milieu Centraal - Gemiddeld energieverbruik

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Answered with the numbers on this page, the same way for both suppliers.

Which is cheaper: ANWB Energie or Frank Energie?

For an example household (2,430 kWh household use plus 2,700 kWh home charging), ANWB Energie charges €194* a year in fixed fees and markup, Frank Energie €180*. The difference is €14 a year, but ANWB Energie and Frank Energie do not say whether the amounts include VAT, so which one is cheaper is not certain. The market price, energy tax and grid costs are the same with both. * Amount as the supplier publishes it, without saying whether it includes VAT.

Can you smart-charge your EV with ANWB Energie and Frank Energie?

ANWB Energie: coming soon. According to anwb.nl a new Smart Charging app is in development ('more soon'); no working steering of charging on hourly prices is offered now. Frank Energie: yes. Smart Charging in the Frank app: set a departure time and Frank schedules charging at the cheapest moments.

Do ANWB Energie and Frank Energie have an ERE deal?

ANWB Energie: no. ANWB explains ERE on anwb.nl and refers to registration services in general, but offers no ERE service itself and names no partner. Frank Energie: yes. Via registration service Joulo (since 16 September 2026), for customers with a suitable charge point with a MID meter. Since 1 January 2026, ERE payment for home charging needs a charger with a built-in MID meter; you can also arrange ERE separately from your energy supplier or charging card.

Do ANWB Energie and Frank Energie use hourly or quarter-hourly prices?

ANWB Energie prices per hour, Frank Energie per hour.

What is the EV score of ANWB Energie and Frank Energie?

ANWB Energie 5.8/10 (fair), Frank Energie 8.5/10 (strong). The EV score counts ten public checks in four pillars: charging 35%, costs 30%, certainty 25% and ERE 10%, with the same rules for every supplier.

Can you cancel ANWB Energie and Frank Energie at any time?

ANWB Energie: No fixed term; can be cancelled any day without a cancellation fee. Frank Energie: Indefinite term; cancellation is free and there is no notice period.

Your ERE payment is arranged separately

Whichever supplier you use: with a charger that has a built-in MID meter you earn ERE payment for what you charge at home. Compare the providers on net earnings and trust.

Compare ERE providers